The University of Iowa University of Iowa
Stream

Music
Music Staff Picks: The Best Releases of April

billy woods – Aethiopes On Aethiopes, billy woods reestablishes his strengths as a storyteller, with help from producer Preservation’s experimentally jazzy beats. By now, woods has cemented himself as one of hip hop’s greatest writers, and his brooding yet clever introspection sounds especially powerful over Preservation’s musical backdropping. Samples of pianos will twinkle across some tracks, and pound discordantly on others, while electric guitars ring and horns blow. By the time the harmonica enters the equation, the beats here are unparalleled. It is an enveloping atmosphere completed by excellent percussion, which moves between hand drums, full kits, and shuffling jangles … Continued

Online Content
Soccer Mommy Hints at New Sound at Mission Creek Festival

Overall, Soccer Mommy earned the headline spot at Mission Creek Festival with their bright-sounding indie underpinning the deeper, darker meaning looming in the lyrics. Sometimes, Forever releases June 24th and can be pre-ordered through her website. 

Music
On Cloud Nine with Beach Bunny

Beach Bunny had had their first performance of their tour at the Englert Theatre. The theater quickly filled with excited young bodies thrilled to see Beach Bunny live.

General Inquiries: krui@uiowa.edu

Donations/Advertising: underwriting@krui.fm

Press Releases: press@krui.fm

Airplay/Music Information: refer to http://krui.fm/about/music/

Requests:
319/335-8970 (89.7 FM – phone)

Business Line: (319) 335-9525

Mailing Address:
KRUI Radio
379 Iowa Memorial Union
The University of Iowa
Iowa City, IA 52242

Director Emails

POSITIONPERSONEMAIL
General ManagerAbbie Eastmanaleastman@krui.fm
Communications & Community EngagementJack Rochejroche@krui.fm
MarketingElisabeth Ostereoster@krui.fm
ProgrammingSydney Sjobakkenssjobakken@krui.fm
ProductionKeegan Konsorkkonsor@krui.fm
OperationsSam Berrysberry@krui.fm
FinanceHector Ortegahortega@krui.fm
NewsAnnemarie Elseraelser@krui.fm
MusicJaden Amjadijamjadi@krui.fm
SportsJohn Leojleo@krui.fm
TrainingDaniela Rybarczykdrybarczyk@krui.fm
Editor-in-ChiefElla Heckmaneheckman@krui.fm

Director Office Hours

POSITIONPERSONDATE AND TIMELOCATION
General ManagerAbbie EastmanTuesday 11-12
Wednesday 12-1
Station
Communications & Community EngagementJack RocheTuesday 8-10pmStation & Zoom
MarketingElisabeth OsterThursday 3:30-5:30Station & Zoom
ProgrammingSydney SjobakkenMonday 2-4Zoom
ProductionKeegan KonsorStation & Zoom
OperationsSam BerryWednesday 3-5Zoom
FinanceHector OrtegaThursday 2-3Zoom
NewsAnnemarie ElserFriday 11-12
Wednesday 6:30-7:30
Station & Zoom
MusicJaden AmjadiTuesday 3:30-4:30 Wednesday 3-4Station
SportsJohn LeoWednesday 3-5
Editor-in-ChiefElla HeckmanWednesday 5-7Zoom & Station
TrainingDaniela RybarcyzkWednesday 5:30-7:30Station & Zoom