The University of Iowa University of Iowa

Review: The Forms – Derealization

By Alexa Squire

Derealization isn’t your typical remix EP. The Forms (now only a two member band) have completely deconstructed their songs and combined them with new chord progressions, lyrics, and arrangements.

The result is six original songs that manage to still be dreamy, rich, and melodic like the band’s previous material, but poppier with the instrumental additions of synth bass and drum machines. Old fans will recognize echoes of the songs they know from The Forms and Icarus and hear many things that are entirely new.

Guest vocalists include The National’s Matt Berninger, Pattern Is Movement’s Andrew Thiboldeaux, and Shudder to Think’s Craig Wedren, and the string arrangements feature Dirty Projector’s Nat Baldwin and St. Vincent’s Daniel Hart.

The Forms – Fire To The Ground by theforms